Ruby Throated Green Hummingbird- Watercolor painting

Standard

Art Prints

Such beauty in design and color can be seen in some of the tinniest of creatures. Humming birds come in a verity of colors with feathers that have almost a metallic sheen. I don’t feel that I have captured the essence of what the Creator has made, but I did really enjoy this painting. Humming birds are very graceful; they are unique birds, especially in North America, being that they are the only birds that drink flower nectar; a very lovely way to get food. They are much like a flower themselves, having radiant colors glistening off their delicate wings. Their wings beat so fast, that they seem to float rather than flap. These are the smallest birds in the world but reflect beauty in a magnified way.

I was surprised at how many times I was able to go over my picture with paint. Something I’ve learned about using watercolor, is to never give up! And keep on going until your satisfied. Of course, The most professional watercolor artists are those who can get done in as few of strokes as possible. I haven’t mastered that technique yet.

This was painted on a 140 lb. watercolor  card, dimensions: 5″x6 7/8″ ( 12.7 x 17.4 cm)

Comments are closed.