Green Hummingbird-Watercolor Painting

Standard

Art Prints

This painting may seem simple enough, but I faced some challenging moments in it’s development. Watercolor is one of my favorite media’s to use. You can work with it and spread it in most of the areas you want before it drys. But if you don’t make sure it drys before applying another layer, it mixes in too much. As I paint I’m learning more through my mistakes. 😉

I’m a great color fan, and love most of the colors I put into this painting. The final touch was suggested to me by my Dad, who told me to add yellow to the background which tied in all the yellow that I had put into the flower and bird. He told me that the color of the background looked too cool and that the yellow would warm the colors up. And you know what? He was right! My Dad sure knows his stuff!

This was painted on a 140 lb. watercolor  card, dimensions: 5″x6 7/8″ ( 12.7 x 17.4 cm)

I am happy to announce, that the original of this painting has recently been sold!

Comments are closed.